top of page

"The Light of Ramadan: A Journey of Amazement and Wonder"



A Ramadan Story - Chapter 3


The days of Ramadan are passing by in a blur. The mornings turn into nights in the blink of an eye. The moon passes through its different stages from a crescent to a half moon then a full moon and will slowly start disappearing back into the crescent. It means the end of Ramadan is nearing. Huda started feeling it a few days ago. I saw her struggling, trying to keep up with college and exams on one side and her fasts and worship on the other. One day, when we came back from college, I could see that she looked quite distressed.”What happened, Huda? You’ve been looking upset over the past few days. Do you want to talk about it?”, I asked. Unexpectedly, she burst into tears and placed her hands over her face. “Oh Maya, I just feel so guilty. I feel like I have been so focused on college that I haven’t been able to spend enough time on worship. This is such a blessed month and I feel like I have just wasted so much of it”, she said, through her tears. Just then, her mother entered the room. “Huda, have you seen my…”, she stopped in her tracks when she saw her daughter crying, “What happened, beta? Why are you crying?” “She feels guilty that she hasn’t been spending enough time for worship”, I replied on her behalf. She went to Huda, tried to calm her down and once she was calm enough, sat down and spoke to her gently. “Beta, I’ve seen how hard you’re trying to handle everything and I’m so proud of you. If I can see it, don’t you think Allah, who is The All-Knowing (Al-’Aleem), The All-Seeing (Al-Baseer’), sees it too? He knows better than anyone that you have been trying your best, He will reward you for your efforts In sha Allah (God willing). Don’t lose hope in the mercy of Allah. You know, if you have the right intention, even studying can be a form of worship?” Huda looked perplexed and asked, “How is that even possible?” “If you sit down to study with the intention that you will use your education to benefit people or to make a positive change in the world, then Allah will reward you for it. That’s why Prophet Muhammad (Peace Be Upon Him) said “Actions are judged by intentions, and each person will get what he intended for.” Having the right intention can change any act into worship, as long as that act is permissible. For example, even if you were to do something as small as moving a stone from the path of people with the intention that you want to protect the people from harm, Allah will reward you for it. Isn’t Our Lord merciful?” I was astonished to hear this. “You get rewarded for such small things?? That’s so cool”, I chimed in. Her mother smiled and nodded. Huda still had tears in her eyes, “Our Lord indeed is merciful. But Ammi, I want to do better from now on. I want to exert myself more, especially in the last 10 days. Can I start by coming with you for Taraweeh?” Her mother looked at her with pride in her eyes and kissed her on the forehead, “Of course, beta. Better late than never, right? As long as this month remains, you still have time to bag up the rewards. Try to increase in small acts of worship whenever you’re free, to read and understand a little more of the Quran, to pray extra prayers and increase in your supplication, to do more dhikr (glorifying Allah) and keep your tongue moist with the remembrance of Allah. Remember that the quality of your worship is more important than the quantity.” She hugged her. My eyes started to well up too. I missed my mother. There is no comfort in the world quite like the comfort a mother provides. “Can I join in on the hug?” I asked in a small voice. They laughed and pulled me in for a group hug.

Ever since that day, Huda has been going for the night prayer called Taraweeh. She has been more at peace and even though she’s barely getting any sleep, I can see how happy she is. I guess talking to her mother has given her the motivation she needed to keep going and push herself. I want to also experience the night prayer but I’ve been waiting for the weekend. On a Friday night, I ask her, “Can I accompany you for taraweeh prayers today? I’m curious about it and want to see how it’s done.” “Yes, of course, you’re most welcome”, she says with a smile, “but you won’t understand anything of what is being recited and you’ll have to follow certain rules. Is that okay?” “Sure!” I say with excitement.
She lays down the rules for me. She tells me that I have to take a shower and purify myself, dress up in clean clothes that are modest, remove my shoes before entering the mosque, be quiet when the prayer is going on and be patient because it will take close to 2 hours. I note it all down and I am determined to do my best.
We finish iftar, rest for a little while and then get ready. I put on my best salwar suit and drape the dupatta over my head. “You don’t really have to cover your hair, you know? Just wearing modest clothes is enough”, says Huda. “Oh okay then”, I reply and take it off, “You didn’t specify it to me earlier so I wasn’t sure.”
We leave for the mosque. I try my best to follow the instructions she gave me. The inside of the mosque is beautiful with glittering chandeliers, carpets with intricate designs and a sweet smell in the air. The people greet me with a smile. I am instantly engulfed in peace. I sit in the corner and watch them pray in unison. What a sight to see! All these people praying together with such discipline. Bowing down together, prostrating together, standing up together. I listen to the melodious recitation of the Quran and although I don't understand it, it soothes my soul. I don’t realise the passing of time and before I know it it’s time to leave. “So…what did you think?” asks Huda after we leave. “I think it was absolutely beautiful. I was sad when it ended because I felt like I could have sat there listening to the recitation a little longer. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to experience this”, I say. She hugs me, “No problem at all. After all, what are best friends for?”

A few days later, Huda and I are sitting with her mother, helping her prepare some food when I remember to ask Huda something I’ve been meaning to ask her since the day she had a breakdown. “Hey, that day you mentioned that you wanted to exert yourself in the last 10 days of Ramadan. I’ve been meaning to ask you if you said that only because they are the last few days or because those days hold any special significance?” “You’re quite an observant girl, Maya”, her mother says with a smile. “Yeah, and extremely inquisitive as well”, says Huda, lifting one eyebrow. “I just like to learn about new things. You know that better than anyone else. Even though I’ve seen Ramadan as an outsider for all these years, this year feels different and I want to make sure I learn all about it”, I say. “Good point. Ammi, can you answer her question? I’m sure you'll explain it better than I can.” “Definitely, beta”, she says. “The last ten nights of Ramadan are considered extremely important because the Quran was revealed on one of these nights, specifically the odd nights. That particular night is called Laylatul Qadr or “The Night of Power” or “The Night of Decree”. This night is special because the greatest blessing to mankind, the Holy Quran, was revealed to Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) through the angel Jibreel”, her mother says, “By the way, do you know, we named Huda after one of the names of the Quran?” I shake my head, mouth wide open and look at Huda. “It’s true, my name means “Guidance” which is one of the names of the Quran”, she says, smiling. “How did I not know that?? That’s so cool. Meanwhile, my name means “Dream” or “Magic”. Just like me. Dreamy and magical” I flick my hair and we all laugh. “Anyway, back to the topic, which odd night is it?” I ask. “Nobody knows which of the odd nights it is, although there are some speculations. I think Allah has kept that information hidden because He knows His creation better than anyone else and He knows that if He confirmed the date then a lot of people would worship Him only on that night and not on the other nights. It’s from His Wisdom that He has hidden it. It is also believed that on this night, Allah shows great mercy to His creation and grants us whatever we ask for, if we ask for it with conviction and belief that He will grant it to us and will forgive our sins. It is also the night on which the decree of the entire year is sent down. Whatever is going to happen from this Ramadan to the next Ramadan is decreed upon us on this night. That’s why we believe that sincere supplication on this day can even change our fate.” I’m so fascinated and intrigued by that idea, “Woah, that sure does sound like an important night then, so much going on”, I say. “It is”, Huda replies, “That’s why we try to stay up praying all night during the last ten nights, specifically the odd nights, so that we are able to achieve the reward of praying on Laylatul Qadr, have our sins forgiven and potentially change our destiny. Not only do we pray, but we also try to do other forms of worship including reciting the Quran, giving charity and doing good deeds because any good deed you do on this night, is equal to you having done that for a 1000 months. Who would want to miss out on such a reward, right?”
Right indeed, I think. Their God is giving them chances upon chances to shower them with His Mercy. What beautiful hope it must give to these believers. Hope enough to get them through any situation in life.


To be continued…



Author: Zainab Ali, Member, GIO Chennai & Ummul Waheedha, Member, GIO Chennai

Date: 12th April 2023

Pic. Credits: Pinterest, Canva, and GIO Chennai
145 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page