top of page

"The Light of Ramadan: A Journey of Amazement and Wonder"

Updated: Apr 12, 2023



A Ramadan Story - Chapter 2


Growing up, I’ve always thought about how difficult it must be to fast, especially for Muslims. I have witnessed Huda fasting, year after year. Not being able to eat and drink for more than half the day for 30 continuous days. Not even water, which is allowed during the fasting of most other religions. I’ve always thought about the immense restraint and patience it must take to achieve that. So, this year, I thought, what better opportunity for me to try it out? Huda’s family is fasting anyway, so I’d just be an addition. I wouldn’t be disturbing anyone for the pre-dawn meal called suhoor nor would I be a burden on anyone for the meal at sunset called iftar. And so it is that I decide to fast on the eighth day of Ramadan.

I was quite curious to know the traditions of Ramadan, the ones I’m not already familiar with. I have visited Huda’s house for iftar before, so I know some of it but a lot of it is still new to me. One of the things was how I was sleeping on the first day of Ramadan and got woken up in the middle of the night to see Huda getting ready to pray. I looked at the clock, it read 4 am. “What are you doing?” I asked, yawning. She looked up, “I’m praying the extra night prayers called tahajjud before I eat suhoor. We believe that God comes down to the lowest heaven to listen to us, to accept our prayers, and forgive our sins.” “And you do this every night?” I asked, baffled about how someone could function this early in the morning, let alone pray. “Yes, I try to pray tahajjud every night in Ramadan at least for the extra reward. In the other months, I try to pray every other day,” she replied. I looked at her in awe, “How do you do it?” She smiled and shrugged, “The hope of my prayers being answered keeps me going.”

Huda and her family also have a special tradition of sitting together before breaking their fast and discussing verses from the Quran. It’s so heartwarming to see a special tradition like that, bringing the family together even if it is for a short time. I’m sure it’s such a family bonding experience for them. Then they do their supplications, open their fast and pray together. Huda’s parents then go for the special prayers at around 8 pm. Usually, Huda and her brother accompany them too, but they haven’t been going so far this year because of school and exams. They pray at home. I wish to accompany them once and witness the prayer they call taraweeh.

On the day that I decide to fast, I wake up bright and early with excitement. I have a hearty meal of suhoor and drink lots of water and feel like I’m ready to take on the world. “What do you look so happy about?” asks Huda. “It’s my first time fasting with you!” I reply. “Let’s see if the excitement continues throughout the day,” she replies with a smirk. “Oh, you don’t have to worry. I’m going to ace it.”
The first thought I have when I wake up in the morning is “Maybe I can’t ace it.” I feel so groggy and sleep deprived and getting ready for college seems like the most challenging task in the world. After I get ready, I stand in front of the mirror and look at myself, Huda stands next to me. There is such a stark contrast between the two of us. I’m tall with sharp features and dark hair dyed red at the ends, she’s shorter and has softer features. But apart from the obvious differences in physical appearance, the most notable difference in appearance is on our faces. I look like I got run over by a truck, battered and tired, whereas she looks like she’s just had a great spa session, fresh and glowing. I look at her in disbelief, “How do you do it?” She smiles, “What? I’ve just gotten used to it this past week. Didn’t you see how terrible I looked and felt on the first few days?”

The day in college goes by slowly. I start to feel the pangs of hunger a little, but the thirst is the difficult part. My mouth is so dry, and my tongue literally feels like sandpaper. I find myself counting the hours before I am able to eat and drink. We finally head back home after what feels like the longest day of my life. My parents call me when I’m back home. “How’s your fast going on, beta?” they ask me excitedly. I had messaged them and told them that I would be fasting. “It’s okay. I’m feeling very drained and exhausted. I don’t know how people do this for a whole month,” I reply. “We know it’s difficult but we’re so proud of you for trying something new. Just be patient, only a few more hours to go!” “Ugh, yeah okay, thanks for stating the obvious. I’ll talk to you guys later. I’m not in the mood right now. Sorry, bye.” I cut the call before they responded. Even little things are annoying me. I’m guessing hunger does that to you.
Huda enters the room and says, “Maya, I forgot to mention to you, but we have an iftar party today at a family friend’s house. We need to be ready by 5.” “I feel like I’m dying, and you want me to get ready for a party??” I ask. “Stop being dramatic, you won’t die”, she says with a grin. Right at that moment, Ibrahim, Huda’s brother, barges into the room, runs over to her table, snatches some pens, and runs away. He does things like that from time to time “Hey! Stop stealing my pens!” Huda starts to yell at him. Then she whispers under her breath, “I’m fasting, I’m fasting.” That calms her down. I look at her in wonder, “How do you do it?” She smiles, “Fasting means not just refraining from eating, but it also means to be patient and at our best behaviour, even when others try to incite us. Ibrahim is still only 10 years old. I have to remind myself that he’s still a child and tell myself that I’m fasting to catch myself from doing or saying anything that I will regret later. Ramadan is basically a 30-day personality development period. It’s up to us if we can stick to it for the rest of the year.” That sounds incredible and incredibly difficult, I think. “Also, we are going to be late so hurry up and get dressed”, she adds.

We all get dressed and leave for the party. We reach their house and it’s beautifully decorated for Ramadan with lights. But my focus is mainly on the food. There is so much food that my mouth instantly starts to water. Only half an hour more, I remind myself. I see plates and plates of the most delicious food, which looks like it has come straight out of my dreams. There are dates, samosas, spring rolls, soup, haleem, fruits, juices and so much more. I’m astonished at how someone could make that much food. I ask Huda and she says that the host said that she ordered most of it from outside because she didn’t want to spend too much time cooking as it would take away time from her worship. We sit down for iftar, and everyone starts to do their supplications. I sit there, patiently looking at the food and then at my watch. The minutes tick by slowly. Finally, the adhan or call to prayer is heard and we all open our fast. I eat a date, drink water, and start devouring the food. It feels like the best meal I’ve ever had in my life and makes me grateful to be able to have so many things to eat. That is also one of the purposes of fasting, Huda has told me. It’s supposed to make us aware of our blessings, be grateful for them, empathize with those who don’t have food to eat, and in turn provide them with food and money to help them lead better lives. I never really gave it much thought before but after having fasted for a day, I think I can finally understand it a little. However, the main purpose that Muslims fast, she told me, is because it is one of the pillars of their religion. It is an act of worship, a chance for them to get closer to God and develop God consciousness.

After eating, they get up to pray and later everyone sits around, drinking tea and discussing life and religion. It is such a blessed gathering and gives a beautiful sense of community and brotherhood. Looking around at this group of people, smiling, and satisfied after their day of arduous work finally causes something to click in my brain, bringing me to a realization. I realize that this is the peace and contentment of Ramadan I’ve always heard about. People follow the commandment of their God and in turn feel the joy and blessings it brings. I turn to Huda, with a smile, and whisper, “Now I know how you do it.” She nods and smiles back.

To be continued…


Author: Zainab Ali, Member, GIO Chennai
Date: 2nd April 2023
Pic. Credits: Pinterest, Canva, and GIO Chennai


303 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Kausar Ataullah
Kausar Ataullah
Apr 09, 2023

Beautifully penned out. So smooth to read and imagine. Truly amazing. Ma shaa Allah. Keep going ✌

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page